Honorary conductor and composers

Osmo Vänskä

Honorary conductor (2008–)
Artistic Director and chief conductor (1988–2008)
Principal guest conductor (1985–1988)


The Lahti Symphony Orchestra has recorded the complete orchestral works of Joonas Kokkonen (1921–1996), who is also an honorary member of the orchestra.
Kalevi Aho (b. 1949) was the orchestra’s composer-in-residence 1992–2011. From the beginning of 2012 he was appointed as the orchestra’s composer laureate.
The orchestra organizes annually the Sibelius Festival, the programme of which consists purely of works by Jean Sibelius (1865–1957).